2014 – Out With A Roar!

Ending 2014 with a Bonzai Suzuki appearance at Massey Hall. So much fun!

Ending 2014 with a Bonzai Suzuki appearance at Massey Hall. So much fun!

Roxie meets Gigi...two lovely singers!

Roxie meets Gigi…two lovely singers!

What a great couple weeks to end an exciting year! After hearing about Roxie for ages, I finally made it out to a club called ZIPPERZ on Monday night (twice in fact) to see this entertaining drag queen. Gigi and Alex Pangman joined me both times.

That's Irritainment!

That’s Irritainment!

We brought other friends along and met Ori Dagan there – who is one of the main Roxie-fans that talked her up. Roxie is seriously funny one moment and then sings a ballad that causes you to drink the next. My bar tab was unusually high there on both visits, despite the fact that drinks are not particularly expensive. I guess a good drag queen drives me to drink.

Happy Family

Happy Family

I took a bus to North Bay for Christmas. Don’t get me started on the fact that there are no more Northlander Trains – I’m pretty sore on that one, but happy to report Dalton McGuinty’s terrible blunder looks like it’ll be reversed by Kathleen Wynn and if she gets us back on track, I’ll be singing her praises with wild joyous abandon. The bus sucks – but I got a lot of writing done…old skool pen to paper.

My mom on dad...when I was eight...looked a bit like TV's "MacMillan & Wife".

My mom on dad…when I was eight…looked a bit like TV’s “MacMillan & Wife”.

North Bay had snow but it rained Christmas Eve so our candles up and down the street (Santa’s Runway) was short-lived. We had many guests drop by the house as always but in smaller groups so we got really good visits in with everyone. I normally don’t care about presents but my cordless headphones, the warped wine glasses and professional foot massaging unit were brilliant gifts. Apparently, Santa really gets me.

Tom Green hit my party after our Massey Hall shenanigans...this is after our midnight kiss. Awkward!

Tom Green hit my party after our Massey Hall shenanigans…this is after our midnight kiss. Awkward!

warming up backstage

warming up backstage

New Years Eve was truly memorable. It was my tenth or eleventh year acting as MD for The Massey Hall New Year’s Eve Comedy Extravaganza and the fifth year with Dave Howard and the Bonzai Suzuki crew. Ij2PwsGfD_GKPt-96Gwx1cGw6HNEmYR1JpYC-ro8MKE(Almost all the shows on NYE also featured Great Bob Scott on drums.) This year Barbra Lica, Genevieve and Sahra Featherstone joined us and performed a syncronic routine to a song called “Work That Butt” and I sang a ditty called “Let’s Potty”.

"Work That Butt" - encouraging people to chair dance!

“Work That Butt” – encouraging people to chair dance!

Tom Green was a nice guy, Kenny Robinson told the truth and every comic was rewarded with a big round of applesauce…er, applause. It was great to see Mark Breslin once again – an annual tradition. He picks the best comics year after year and just recently I found an old show we did together for CTV where he featured Jim Carrey, Harland Williams, Steve Pearl and others…I think somebody should hire Breslin to produce some new comedy specials. There’s nobody with more knowledge and friends in the comedy biz.

THANKS TO DALE SOOD FOR ALL THE PRO PHOTOS FROM MASSEY HALL AND KAMA!

THANKS TO DALE SOOD FOR ALL THE PRO PHOTOS FROM MASSEY HALL!

HAPPY NEW YEAR...INDEED!

HAPPY NEW YEAR…INDEED!

Mel and I have had such great times this past year. Chicago, Costa Rica and tons of fun here in Toronto!

Mel and I have had such great times this past year. Chicago, Costa Rica and tons of fun here in Toronto!

After singing Auld Lange Syne at 10:30 we beelined to an Indian restaurant on King called Kama. Roger Clown and Robert Scott performed earlier and I jumped up with Don Francks and Tony Quarrington upon arrival and sang.

Then Barbra Lica and Genevieve took over. The house band included TQ on guitar, Lou Pomanti on keys, Lee Hutchinson on bass, Alison Young on tenor sax, Great Bob Scott on drums and special guest Rich Underhill on alto sax. We ate, drank and sang into the wee hours. A classy way to enter into the New Year!

A perfect party? Yes!

A perfect party? Yes!

Bernie Senesky did a few songs with the band. It was his birthday! (pianist Robert Scott's too!)

Bernie Senesky did a few songs with the band. It was his birthday! (pianist Robert Scott’s too!)

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

