Party Time (still !?!)

IMG_9525

A few words about New Years Eve before I start my diary-ish part of the blog:

The Massey Hall Comedy Extravaganza celebrate’s it’s 14th year this Dec. 31st at 7pm and stars Derek Edwards, Dave Martin, Kenny Robinson and tons more. My band Bonzai Suzuki play a few tunes and it’s my tenth time acting as MD for this show that is produced by my old pal Mark Breslin. Mark inspired one of our songs called “Let’s Potty” – a perfect song to do before Tom Green takes to the stage as emcee. After that I beeline (excuse the bee jargon) to Kama on King to sing with Don Francks and Tony Quarrington. Then Barbra Lica and Gigi Marentette perform! It’s also birthday celebrations for four of my friends!

It's Dress Up Party Time!

It’s Dress Up Party Time!

 Anjelica Scannura is the belly dancing world champion. We are so spoiled at my salons!


Anjelica Scannura is the belly dancing world champion. We are so spoiled at my salons!

I have hosted a few parties at Chez Bee Gigi in the past few weeks. (Gigi makes my parties that much more special by offering up a signature cocktail upon arrival.)

Hammy ham ham.

Hammy ham ham.

June, Gigi and Sophia...a triple Goddess threat!

June, Gigi and Sophia…a triple Goddess threat!

Every loft party is quite small; between 20 and 30 friends.

 

I switch it up as far as the guest list is concerned, but there are a few regulars of course.

Fred Schneider (of B52's and Superions fame) was our guest of honour...or I guess, honor!

Fred Schneider (of B52’s and Superions fame) was our guest of honour…or I guess, honor!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It is a rare treat …that I ever have a big dinner at my place…but with the inspiration of Gigi’s b-day, and her cooking skills, it was a pleasure to turn my cocktail lounge into a feasty treat.

Gravy train!

Gravy train!

It doesn’t hurt that the (literal) boy next door, Jake Vanderham, is a great chef too. It was technically called “American Thanksgiving” but a handful of people very close to Gigi were invited for dinner. (Like salons, the room size means we can’t possibly invite everyone we want to.)

Gigi and I loved The Women In Blues Review at Massey Hall...Brandi Disterheft was brilliant as always!

Gigi and I loved The Women In Blues Review at Massey Hall…Brandi Disterheft was brilliant as always!

I hit Don Dixon’s Asylum Artists HQ twice.

Irene Torres is a hoot at a photo shoot!

Irene Torres is a hoot at a photo shoot!

Firstly for a photo shoot to plug my parties (and drink a bottle of Aberfeldy in the process) and also to celebrate Don’s birthday that included a fun concert and far too much booze!

International Divas - one more show December 21!

International Divas – one more show December 21!

I loved seeing George Koller’s showcase of female vocalists displaying various genres of music. You can get tix and info on the next one at http://www.internationaldivas.net

Sophie Milman in a small cozy venue like Hugh's Room...pinch me!

Sophie Milman in a small cozy venue like Hugh’s Room…pinch me!

Nerd alert!

Nerd alert!

No lack of Goddess energy lately. I sang at A Kosher Christmas and got to bask in the glow of Julie Michels and Sophie Milman. Kellylee Evans and Garvia Bailey in the same room? Good Morning Toronto indeed!

I never met Presley but I supped at a table beside Costello and have hung with Stojko...

Elvis has entered the building!

 

Ken Worth and John McMurchy were diggin the salon at Chez Bee Gigi.

Ken Worth and John McMurchy were diggin the salon at Chez Bee Gigi.

IMG_0117Kazoos are under-rated, sez me. Still, I often find myself bringing it out in the most inappropriate places. I turned Havana Cuba into a Guantana-Marthon…like a swarm of bees with bongos. So wrong and strong! Anyway, I recently serenaded a young princess who would have none of it and later crasehd a bunch of Carollers outside City Hall. (I admit they were posing, but still…)IMG_0084

I’ve hosted several jazz safaris and seen countless bands but one unforgettable moment was at The Old Mill with PJ Perry as special guest with the JAZZ.FM91 Youth Big Band. They played an exciting show, confident and capable…can’t believe my buddy Carter (on piano) is only 15 – I’ve been a fan of his for years!

Jazz Fm Youth Big Band rhythm section

Jazz Fm Youth Big Band rhythm section

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

