Wining & Dining at Chez Bee

The photo that started it all...I asked Laura to come over for dinner and then thought: "I should do this all week!" Thanks Laura!

The photo that started it all…I asked Laura to come over for dinner and then thought: “I should do this all week!” Thanks Laura!

I spent a week in work mode (for JAZZ.FM91) every morning, writing mode in the afternoon and wining/dinging at my loft each evening. As for that last part: Every year at my birthday I do this…a seven-day party followed by a week where I don’t go out to shows or events and have just one guest drop in for a quiet visit.

Laughing and eating with Barbie!

Laughing and eating with Barbie!

Goofing off with Alex!

Goofing off with Alex!

I decided not to wait until April, and to take a “week off” in the fall. What a great idea – I got to spend some quality time with some of my favourite people:

Sahra has been my best friend for over a decade!

Sahra has been my best friend for over a decade!

Alex Pangman, Laura Desiree, Sahra Featherstone, Melissa Shouldice,

Mel enjoyed the taste test: We couldn't decide which wine we liked better but after two bottles it didn't really matter I suppose.

Mel enjoyed the taste test: We couldn’t decide which wine we liked better but after two bottles it didn’t really matter I suppose.

Stephanie Goodhue, Barbra Lica and Jessica Pelchat. (The fact that they are all gorgeous women is purely coincidental, I assure you – with not a trace of irony in my voice – and I mean that – and I’ll stop now.)

Mel and I have seen dozens of great plays but I equally enjoy down-time.

Mel and I have seen dozens of great plays but I equally enjoy down-time.

Last Thursday I went to see Heavyweights Brass Band and a young singer from Calgary named Evelyn Dotty.

I am accustomed to being recognized, but rarely are they so young. (Most of my younger friends sleep in and miss morning radio all togehter!) ;-)

JAZZ FM FANS: I am accustomed to being recognized, but rarely are they so young. (Most of my younger friends sleep in and miss morning radio all togehter!) 😉

E-Dot in the T-Dot!

E-Dot in the T-Dot!

 

 

In between there was a remarkable set by Robi Botos and Kevin Breit: two of the most confident and playful instrumentalists I know! IMG_8652Friday and Sunday I hit Jazz Bistro to see Harold Lopez-Nussa Trio. After the show Sunday Gigi and I went to Reposado to enjoy live music from Robert Scott & Great Bob Scott – and fall in love with Tequila Manhattans!

Two best friends from the 80's...Wayne Parent and The Great Bob Scott. As you can see, drinking tequila doesn't affect me.

Two best friends from the 80’s…Wayne Parent and The Great Bob Scott. As you can see, drinking tequila doesn’t affect me.

 

 

Saturday I went Pumpkin hunting with Jessica and Hayden. unnamed-10While I missed my excursion to North Bay for thanksgiving with family and fall colours, it meant a lot to spend a “family day” exploring nature and pumpkin hunting.

A perfect sunny Sunday!

A perfect sunny Sunday!

Our visit to Downey’s Farm was one-stop shopping for beautifully strange-shaped gourds!

A couple nights back, Gigi and I hosted another salon at my loft. 10389338_10152315227877035_1761439031253717735_n

There is only room for a handful of people so I switch it up as best I can so I can visit with various friends – which of course means no two parties are alike.

Thanks to Amy McConnell for the great photos ... and the lovely song!

Thanks to Amy McConnell for the great photos … and the lovely song!

This time, the musicians outnumbered the party guests who weren’t performers, so there was no shortage of variety of talent.

unnamed

I will post many more photos in my CHEZ BEE SALON section of the Jaymz Bee Blog.IMG_8696

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

