HalloWEEK

Who needs a mask when you have a scary puss like mine!?

Who needs a mask when you have a scary puss like mine!?

Halloween? More like Hallo-week! So many theme parties and me, with nary a costume! I was so busy this week I just grabbed a mask as I ran out the door – that’s a first. Now I have had some pretty lame costumes in the past – I’m never an award winning Zombie – but this year was a new low when it came to not dressing up.

Me on the left. Mask, wig...good to go!

Me on the left. Mask, wig…good to go!

Regardless, I had tons of fun this week…I got back from New York late Monday and hosted my first wee loft party of the “season” on Wednesday.

Howard Jerome aka Dr. Possibility always presented a Kosher Rap!

Howard Jerome aka Dr. Possibility presented a Kosher Rap!

IMG_0762

Mary...my favourite nerd!

Mary…my favourite nerd!

Astro Nerds was the theme…some came as Spacemen and most came dressed as Nerds.

Charlie's iPods?

Charlie’s iPods?

Astro Geeks!

Astro Geeks!

Barbra Lica and Michael Dunston sang!

Barbra Lica and Michael Dunston sang!

It was an easy theme (many friends didn’t need to do anything as they have mastered the nerd look) and saved me from sweeping up body parts from Zombies and having blue make-up from Avatars on my sofas.

Vivanna is my kinda geek!

Vivanna is my kinda geek!

Did you say, Space?!?

Did you say, Space?!?

What a bash it was – about forty friends and half of them performed. I need to switch up the guest list regularly as I have hundreds of friends I want to invite over but only have limited space. Brigham Phillips played piano, Tony Quarrington and Mike Francis on guitar and Jacob Gorzhaltsan played clarinet and sax. IMG_0770

Thursday I enjoyed a concert by Kevin Laliberte at McMichael Gallery in Kleinberg.

Super Girl and I loved all the music at McMichael this past month!

Super Girl and I loved all the music at McMichael this past month!

It was the last show of their series but based on its success they will offer more jazz concerts at my favourite gallery in the spring!

Robin Doolittle...one of the coolest girls I know...more cowbell indeed!

Robin Doolittle is so cool…she is The Star reporter who saw the Rob Ford crack video…more cowbell indeed! Smart, gorgeous and a great singer/dancer. Wow!

Friday I hosted NEWZAPALOOZA which is a benefit for The Children’s Aid Foundation. Bands made up of employees from Toronto Sun, Star, Globe & Mail, Rueters, etc. vie for a trophy and bragging rights. For the first time ever (I’ve emceed this thing for years) there was a tie!

Watching Robyn move on stage makes me feel like Kevin Spacey in "American Beauty".

I hope this doesn’t come off creepy, but watching Robyn move on stage makes me feel like Kevin Spacey in “American Beauty”.

Kudos to Dave Bidini (a judge) who insisted we didn’t flip a coin to pick one winner. He said both bands deserved to win so I suggested that I just go create another trophy (donated by Ace Awards on The Danforth and then gussied-up by yours truly) and deliver it to the other winner.

The Toronto Star and Toronto Sun agree on Newzapalooza! Tada!

The Toronto Star and Toronto Sun agree on Newzapalooza! Tada!

backstage at The Opera House

backstage at The Opera House

They raised over $7000 for the charity so the whopping total after many years is close to 80 grand!

My hallway...what a wild loft party Friday night!

My hallway…what a wild loft party Friday night!

I got home Friday in time to party at my loft – everyone in my warehouse is brilliant when it comes to party planning and this night included strobe lights, a lazer show and theme rooms…IMG_0901Day of The Dead Shrine, Dead Poets Society, etc.

There's no place like home...really!

There’s no place like home…really!

creepy

creepy

The Great One.

The Great One.

Saturday was Great Bob Scott’s 50th Birthday. A few close friends gathered at my loft (three parties in one week – I’ve got some mega cleaning to do) and we had dinner and drinks…then Captain Paul took us in his RV to Danforth Bowl for some seriously drunk bowling. IMG_0945Great Bob won and suggested we “let him win” cuz it was his birthday.

The best bowler is wearing a bowler hat! Coinkydink?

The best bowler is wearing a bowler hat! Coinkydink?

I explained that nobody has a button to make the pins go down and that he had two strikes and two spares…way better than anyone else in the room that night!

mmm...mmm...Swiss!

mmm…mmm…Swiss!

Finally, on Sunday I hit 25 LIBERTY for a hangover brunch. This place used to be Liberty Bistro and I miss the original owner, Nezam, very much. I’m pleased to announce though, that if you go in and ask for a Swiss Farmer’s Breakfast (not on the menu) you will eat like a King for twenty bucks including taxes, tip and a great cup of coffee. The breakfast is half a rosti potato pancake with a couple fried eggs smothered in Swiss Cheese and wee side salad. It’s now officially my favourite breakfast but I only go once a week or two…not exactly health food!

Feisal the birthday boy threw a great party!

Feisal the birthday boy threw a great party!

In the afternoon I hooked up with Barbra Lica and we went to our pal Feisal’s birthday bash at Reservoir Lounge.

Mary and  Barbie were on fire at The Reservoir!

Mary and Barbie were on fire at The Reservoir!

Mary McKay blew our minds with her brilliant set list and we drank way too much tequila. Then off to Lula Lounge to emcee the Ron Davis show…only one more to go (THIS SUNDAY, SHOW AT 8pm) and I highly recommend this as a date night. Doors at 7 for dinner, one set at 8pm with Ron Davis Quartet (Blue Modules) and a string section. His new CD “SymphRONica” is out now!

Catch Ron Davis this Sunday at Lula Lounge...you can thank me later! www.lula.ca

Catch Ron Davis this Sunday at Lula Lounge…you can thank me later! http://www.lula.ca

 

COMING UP: I know it’s over a month away but please get your tix now for the next big swing dance party at Palais Royale. It makes the band excited to know tickets sell out in advance! CLICK HERE to order your tickets now! bee-palais

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

